Homemade Cold Medicine

Posted on
Homemade Cold Medicine

Ever feel a cold creeping up and need to knock it out before it has a chance to take hold? This homemade cold medicine can nip it in the bud. Designed to tackle coughs, congestion, and a sore throat, it surpasses anything I’ve ever gotten from the store and it’s my go-to recipe when someone in my house starts feeling sick. Even better, I don’t have to wonder is it safe? Is this actually the proper dosage?  How many hours has it been? What is 2% of “asdlkjasdklh” for? All four major ingredients are known for their different healing and therapeutic properties. When combined they’re a cold-kicking powerhouse. I always keep some on hand stored in the fridge, especially during the winter months when my kids are more prone to catch something. Give it a try for yourself next time you or your loved ones have got the tell-tale signs you’re coming down with a cold.

Homemade Cold Medicine

4 Sons 'R' Us: Homemade Cold Medicine

  •  1/4 tsp cayenne
  • 1/4 tsp ginger
  • 1 tbsp organic apple cider vinegar
  • 2 tbsp water
  • 1 tbsp raw honey (local is best*)

Directions

  1. In a small jar, combine vinegar and water.
  2. Dissolve cayenne and ginger into the liquids.
  3. Add honey.
  4. Shake well.
  5. Dosage: Adults should take 1 tbsp as needed. I give my kids** 1/2 tbsp as needed for cough/congestion.

*Some research suggests that consuming local raw honey can help allergy sufferers find some relief. Raw (unprocessed) honey still contains enzymes and pollen. Local honey contains pollen from plants in your vicinity that you’re constantly exposed to and that might be causing or triggering your allergies. Essentially, ingesting the local pollen, in small doses, over a prolonged period of time would act as a natural vaccine.

**WARNING: Children under 12 months of age should NEVER consumer honey, raw or processed, as there is a risk of Child Botulism (bacterial illness). Further, honey is acidic and the practice of keeping it sitting in the mouth for prolonged periods of time may erode dental enamel.

About 4 Sons 'R' Us

Hi! I’m Meaghan. Welcome to my virtual kitchen & craft corner. Pull up a chair, stay awhile and follow along with us and our 4 sons. Can I get you a glass of wine? Some coffee? Pretzels or cheese sticks? While I can’t actually give you these thing online, I can show you how to make them… on a budget!

One response »

  1. Pingback: Copy-Cat Vick’s Vapor Shower Disks | 4 Sons 'R' Us

Leave a comment