Cherry Pie Bars

I’ve been holding out on you. I made these bad boys a little over a month a go. . . I’m sorry! I don’t know why but I’ve been ‘saving’ them. For what I’m not sure. I just kept thinking oh, I need a special occasion to share these. And a month has come and gone and I still have not shared them! So I decided I would create a special occasion. Happy Cherry Pie Bar Tuesday!

I love me some cherry pie. It’s always my first choice. A good pie isn’t something you can just throw together. It requires planning and time invested. I had plans to make cherry pie the other day. Life had other plans. Did I let that discourage me? Of course not. Instead, I opted for these simple, yet oh so special cherry pie bars. These sweet, flaky fruit bars are warm & cozy.

Short on time? Get your fix in a jiff using this easy recipe.

(Oh, and P.S., you’re not a fan of cherry pie? Not a problem, sub in the fruity-flavored pie filling of your choice.)

Cherry Pie Bars

4 Sons 'R' Us: Cherry Pie Bars

recipe originally from Six Sisters’ Stuff

1 cup butter, softened
2 cups sugar
4 eggs
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
1/4 teaspoon almond extract
3 cups all-purpose flour
1 teaspoon salt
1 can (21 oz) cherry pie filling

Glaze

1 cup powdered sugar
1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract
1/2 teaspoon almond extract
2 tablespoons milk

Directions

1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees.
2. In a large bowl, ream together butter and sugar. Add eggs, vanilla extract, and almond extract and beat well. Add flour and salt to the creamed mixture and mix until combined.
3. Grease a 9×13″ baking pan and spread about 3/4 of the batter in the bottom (mine was a little sticky, so I sprayed my hands with non-stick cooking spray and used my hands to spread the dough to the edges of the pan). Spread with pie filling over the batter. Drop remaining batter on top of pie filling in teaspoonful amounts (I did about 35 small spoonfuls of batter over the cherry filling to make the top crust).
4. Bake for about 35 minutes or until toothpick comes clean. Combine glaze ingredients and drizzle over the bars.

About 4 Sons 'R' Us

Hi! I’m Meaghan. Welcome to my virtual kitchen & craft corner. Pull up a chair, stay awhile and follow along with us and our 4 sons. Can I get you a glass of wine? Some coffee? Pretzels or cheese sticks? While I can’t actually give you these thing online, I can show you how to make them… on a budget!

Leave a comment